How bad is Shopify for SEO?

I’ve read that Shopify has significant SEO problems, but I still want to launch an online business. Since I’m not good at web development, I would really like to use Shopify.

I’m trying to decide if I should pay someone to create my website from the ground up with SEO in mind.

OR create my own Shopify website and employ a professional in search engine optimization to iron out any kinks.

Any opinions or guidance would be much valued.

1 Like

Shopify has several SEO advantages, such as automatically generated sitemaps, editable meta-data, support for WebP image formats, and redirect creation. It does, however, have certain drawbacks, including limited blogging capabilities, imposed URL formats, and the lack of native product review functionality.

Shopify is user-friendly, but SEO might need a professional touch. Building a website from scratch offers more SEO control, but requires coding knowledge. Use Shopify’s user-friendliness to build your own store, then hire an SEO expert to iron out any kinks. This might be a cost-effective way to get started with SEO and leverage Shopify’s ease of use

Shopify helps you optimize your store for search engines in a few ways. You can easily edit product descriptions, use high-quality images that load fast, and create redirects for broken links. However, it doesn’t allow customers to leave reviews directly on products, and you have some limitations on how you can structure your website addresses and blog posts.

Shopify has some limitations regarding built-in SEO features compared to completely custom-built websites. However, it can still be a great platform to launch your online business, especially for beginners who aren’t comfortable with web development. Here’s a breakdown of both options to help you decide:

Option 1: Custom Website with SEO Focus

Pros: