How do you develop a List of Keywords for SEO?

Hey guys,

So, here’s the deal: imagine you’ve got a regular old business website and you’re aiming to boost traffic that could turn into actual customers. Plus, you’ve got a blog going and you can crank out about 10 to 15 posts every week.

How would you go about figuring out which keywords to target? You know, the ones that get searched a lot each month and aren’t too crazy competitive (you know how Google is). I’m a total beginner here, so any tips would be awesome!

2 Likes

Newcomer questions are totally okay here, everyone’s here to help out. Let me start by asking a couple of things to give you the best answers:

What exactly do you mean by an “offline business website”? Has it not been launched yet, or is there something else going on?

You mentioned having enough “internal resources” to churn out 10-15 blog posts per week. How are you estimating this? How much time do you think it takes to write a blog post? Understanding this will help us gauge if your plan is realistic or not. Writing that many is ambitious, and if you can do it, that’s great! But you don’t want to end up with a bunch of shallow content—it won’t help much in the long run.

If you’re looking for a quick answer:

Google Keyword Planner is a solid, free tool for gathering keyword data. You’ll need to sign up with a credit card, but there’s no charge unless you decide to spend money.

Another approach is to put yourself in your customers’ shoes and consider their needs and queries. For instance, if you’re doing SEO for a plumbing business, common keywords might include “plumber near me,” “best plumber,” and “emergency plumber.” These are pretty basic and likely already targeted by others in your area.